Wanderers RFC

Memphis Wanderers RFC was originally founded in 1967 when Scotsman, Malcolm Williams (Glasgow, Scotland) & Welshman Bill Wright (Cardiff, Wales) .  The original jerseys were red with a 3″ black hoop. They joined the Missouri Rugby Union that evolved into the Ozark Rugby Union.

1967 Wanderers – Before Jerseys were purchased. Coach Bill Wright standing on the left. Malcolm Williams kneeling second from the left.

In the spring of 1968 the first rugby game that was played in Memphis was held at Overton Park against Huntsville, AL. It was a loss with a score of (20 to 0).

The first Memphis player to score was Mike Ellis against the Saint Louis Ramblers in Saint Louis, MO. At the time of this first game the scoring went like this: a try = 3 points, conversions after a try = 2 points, a penalty kick or a drop kick = 3 points. In 1969 the City of Memphis moved the field of play from Overton Park to Sea Isle Park and again in 1969 from Sea Isle Park to Toby Park.

1974 Wanderers

August 21, 1971 was proclaimed “Memphis Wanderers Rugby Club Day” by the then Memphis mayor Henry Loeb and the Wanderers performed at half-time of the Atlanta vs. Denver NFL pre-season football game that evening at the Liberty Bowl stadium.

Wanderers – 1972

In 1972 the Club changed its name to the Memphis Bulls (solid powder blue jerseys) reflecting a sponsorship by Schlitz Brewery.  In 1974 the club split into the Bulls & Wanderers #2 (Maroon with White hooped jersey).  The Wanderers #2 played their games at Audubon Park

1976 Roster

President—Arland “Ace” Eilert; Captains—George Noblit, Danny Gregory.
Other team members: Buddy Adams, Bill Alexander, Jim Baird, Charlie Beckum, Jim Berry, Jim Boone, Steve Burnett, Chris Cavallo, Don Cobb, Jim Cobb, Sonny Eilert, Dick Foster, Mike Harbor, Jim Head, Mike Herr, Terry Hooker, David Howell, Jeff Johnson, Jack Lengsfield, Rusty Long, Ernie Lubiani, Tony Lubiani, Ed Mann, Ned Mauldin, Bobby Moore, Lee Phillips, Jack Pickard, Wayne Rogers, Jeff Smith, Roman Swatzyna, Roger Swatzyna, Steve Swatzyna, Robert Totty, Melvin Wilkins, Oscar Wilkins, Dave Williams, Mark Wood, Lee Woodruff, Chris Young, Jim Zotkiewicz.